Community Living Ontario Logo

Ten Directors, One Vision


Community Living Wallaceburg’s Board of Directors is a unique mix including people we support, business leaders, advocates, family members and those who have a genuine concerns for people with disabilities.

Community Living Wallaceburg’s Board of Directors is comprised of up to ten individuals entrusted with managing the affairs of the Association. The Directors are elected by the Membership and are responsible for the management of Community Living Wallaceburg.


Kevin Cavanagh, President

Kevin joined the Community Living Wallaceburg Board of Directors in 2008, currently holding the position of President and serving on the Finance Committee. He has served as President and Past President of the Wallaceburg and District Chamber of Commerce and Co-Chair of He is also a founding member of the Wallaceburg Advisory Team for a Cleaner Habitat and was a former board member with the Wallaceburg Community Task Force.  Kevin owns and operates Haycock-Cavanagh Funeral Home.


Lauren Freeburn, Vice-President

Lauren has served on the Board of Directors since 2013.  She majored in Kinesiology at Western University in London, and while there she volunteered her time assisting fellow community members with disabilities. Lauren serves on the Agency’s Finance Committee.  She is an associate Doctor of Chiropractic Medicine at Currier Chiropractic in Wallaceburg.

Lindsay copy

Lindsey Anderson, Treasurer

Lindsey has been a member of Community Living Wallaceburg Board of Directors since 2013 and served on the Human Rights Review Committee.  She was at one time a summer student employee with Community Living. Lindsay is a Bachelor of Laws graduate from the University of Windsor, and currently practices law as a partner with the firm of Carscallen Reinhart Mathany Maslak Anderson. She resides in Wallaceburg.


Derek McGivern, Past President

Derek has been a member of Community Living Wallaceburg’s Board of Directors since 2007 and is the parent of a child with Cerebral Palsy. He has served as President to the Board and represented the agency on the St. Clair Catholic District School Board – Special Education Advisory Committee. Derek is a Business Developer with Nexeo Solutions.


Ryan Allaer

Ryan joined the Community Living Wallaceburg board in 2016.  He comes from an Industrial and Agricultural background, lives on his family farm near Wallaceburg and is a Project Manager for CMF Group Millwrights and Machinery Movers.  Ryan is actively involved in the local community having served on the Wallaceburg Minor Hockey Board as well as coaching various teams.  Ryan and his wife Laura are proud parents of three children, one of whom has down syndrome.


Lisa Babcock

Lisa Babcock

Lisa has been a board member since 2015 and she currently practices as a nurse practitioner for the Erie St Clair Community Access Centre (CCAC) on the Palliative Care Consultation Team (PCCT). In addition, her past employers have included the Chatham-Kent Community Health Care Centres, Chatham-Kent Public Health Unit and Sydenham District Hospital.  Lisa is also a volunteer board member of the Twin Bridges Nurse Practitioner Clinic and resides in Wallaceburg.


Picture of Ben Hazzard

Ben Hazzard

Ben Hazzard is the Principal of P.E. McGibbon School in Sarnia and has served on the Community Living Wallaceburg Board of Directors since 2015.  Ben has received numerous awards including recognition as an Apple Distinguished Educator: Class of 2015, Microsoft Innovative Teacher and International Leadership, SMART Exemplary Educator.  Outside of education, Ben has volunteered in his community as a member of the Board of Directors for a residential treatment centre, and is the Race Director for the St. Clair River Run.

Amy Mikhaila

Amy joined the Board of Directors of Community Living Wallaceburg in 2017. She holds a CPA, CA, is a graduate of the Richard Ivey School of Business at Western University and has worked in management positions at Union Gas Limited and Ernst & Young LLP. Amy serves on the Agency’s Finance Committee.


Kayla Murphy

Kayla is an Educational Assistant at Bkejwanong Kinomaagewgamig, (formally known as Walpole Island Elementary School). She holds a Developmental Services Worker diploma, a BA in Disability Studies, and an Autism and Behavioural Science graduate certificate. She is also a member of Walpole Island First Nation, and holds general memberships with the Ontario Association on Developmental Disabilities and Autism Ontario. She volunteers for two Autism Chapters.

Picture of Chris Taylor

Chris Taylor

Chris is a self-advocate who grew up in Wallaceburg and is a graduate of the Options Programme at St. Clair College. Chris works part-time both at Sobeys in Chatham and with 99.1 CKXS in Wallaceburg.  Chris dedicates many volunteer hours at TV Cogeco as a community producer, accepting assignments throughout Chatham-Kent.  In 2014-2015 Chris served on the Human Rights Committees.

Translate »